School Year

School Year at Ardee Community School

School calendar

This is issued in June every year. Every effort is made to adhere to the dates on the calendar throughout the year and changes are notified to parents/guardians at the earliest possible convenience.

ARDEE COMMUNITY SCHOOL CALENDAR 2021/2022

First Term 

Wednesday 25th August Staff Planning Day (Croke Park). School closed to students. 

Thursday 26th August First Years only in school until 12.25; Staff meeting in Afternoon  

Friday 27th August First and Sixth Years in school. 

Monday 30th August First, Third, 6 LCA and Sixth Years in school. 

Tuesday 31st August First, Third, Fifth, 5LCA & Sixth Years in school. 

Wednesday 1st September First, Second, Third, Fifth and Sixth years 

Thursday 2nd September All Students back in School including Transition Year

Wednesday 15th September Staff Meeting Term 1 (After School). 

Friday 1st October Commencement date for enrolment of new students 2022/2023. 

Monday 4th October School Closed to Students  

Thursday 14th October 6th Year Parent/Teacher Meeting (3.15 pm to 5.45pm) (provisional) 

Monday 18th October Meeting for parents of incoming first years 2021/2022 at 7.30pm. 

Friday 22nd October Closing date for enrolment of incoming first years 2021/2022. 

Monday 25th to Friday 29th October. Midterm-Break. 

Thursday 11th November 3rd Year Parent Teacher Meeting (3.15 pm to 5.45pm) (provisional) 

Thursday 25th November 5th Year, and TY Parent Teacher Meeting (3.15 pm to 5.45pm) (provisional) 

Monday 29th November 6th year/6LCA Year Career Information Night, CAO, PLC, Apprenticeships.

 Monday 6th of December School Closed to Students 

Tuesday 7th to Tuesday 13th December Christmas Exams (1st, 2nd, 5th Years, 5LCA & TY) 

Wednesday, 22nd December Christmas Closing 


Second Term 

Thursday, 6th January School Re-Opens after Christmas. 

Monday 17th January Junior Cycle Teacher Training Day, school closed to students. 

Thursday 20th January 1st Year Parent/Teacher Meeting (3.15 pm to 5.45pm) (provisional) 

Monday 24th January Information Night for Senior Cycle (Parents of 3rd Year and TY students)7.30pm. 

Tuesday 25th January Subject Choice information night (Parents of current 1st years). 

Monday 7th to Friday 18th February Pre-Leaving & Pre-Junior Exams (provisional). 

Monday 21st to Friday 25th February Midterm Break. 

Thursday 3rd March 2nd Year Parent/Teacher meeting (3.15pm to 5.45pm) (provisional) 

Saturday 5th March Assessment for incoming 1st Years. (provisional) 

Wednesday 9th March Staff Meeting Term 2 (After School). 

Thursday 17th March St. Patricks Day (Bank Holiday) School Closed. 

Friday 8th April Easter Closing 


Third Term 

Monday 25th April School Re-Opens after Easter Holidays. 

Monday 2nd May Bank Holiday – School Closed. 

Tuesday 3rd May School closed to students 

Thursday 5th May Staff Meeting Term 3 (After school). 

Thursday 19th May Awards Ceremony (Provisional). 

Wednesday 25th May 6th Year Graduation (Provisional). 

Monday 30th May to Friday 3rd June Annual Summer Exams. 

Friday, 3rd June Closing for Summer Holidays. 

Wednesday 8th June State Exams Commence. 

Tuesday 28th June State Exams End. 

* While every effort will be made to adhere to this calendar, it is important to note that this is the Provisional Calendar  for 2021/2022 and is subject to restrictions, depending on health advice and recommendations. Adequate notice will be  given if changes are necessary. Parent/ Teacher meetings and entrance tests are provisional dates as they will be  dependent on health advice at the time. Our Annual Open Night will be a virtual event this year due to restrictions.