History & Trusteeship

Ardee Community School was established in 1974 as an amalgamation of the three existing post primary schools in the town, St. Anne’s Secondary School for girls, De La Salle Boys’ Secondary School and Ardee Vocational School. The school premises on the current site was built to cater for the amalgamation. Mr Padraig Faulkner was Minister for Education from 1969 to 1973 and as a local TD was instrumental in establishing the community school in Ardee.
The school is under the Trusteeship/Joint Patronage of the Archdioceses of Armagh and Louth Meath Education and Training Board (LMETB). The trustees are responsible for, the appointment of the Board of Management, changes to the school site and property, the characteristic spirit of the school and the appointment of members of selection boards and the establish of school policy such as Admissions, Code of Behaviour etc.